top of page

Finding Creative Motivation


We all have been in a sort of limbo holding pattern. Since March, my world has been rather put on hold. As an artist, and self-employed person, I had a part-time position shopping and delivering groceries. I really liked it, and developed a few regular customers. It gave me freedom, and extra income. Then Coronavirus hit. That ended that, as I live with my parents. Initially, I got sick. I had been to the coast for a spirit fair (I do astrology readings, too), and it was a hard decision whether or not to go. March 15 (yes, the Ides of March) I decided to go and help the friend putting on the fair. Groups of people gathered on the beach out the back of the hotel. SpaceX was due to launch. We took a group shot, all arm in arm. Other than that, I was respectful, and distanced. It didn't work. April 1st I was laid up in bed, too exhausted to get up for the day. That isn't like me. I am really health-focused: vegan, daily walks, vitamins, etc. So when I felt that off, along with other symptoms, I knew I had "it". It didn't last long. My Reiki practice, lots of vitamin C and echinacea, and I was up and moving, again. But it stuck around, like an unwanted mosquito.



I am completely back now, but the stress of what Covid has done to day-to-day life stays. It really is a difficult summer, and my heart goes out to those who are losing homes and food. or worse, loved ones. As this is my art blog, I will catch you up on my art life. Amazingly, I have a couple connections in the art world here in Orlando which both, in the same week, contacted me about shows. So for a month, I've had one of my more expensive paintings in an art exhibit in St. Petersburg, FL. Another group of 10 paintings are at a show here in town. I have plenty to keep me busy, and working towards my art goals (sell more paintings LOL). I am redesigning this blog, I have redesigned my www.ShelleyOverton.com site, which houses most of my artwork, and will roll this one and my astrology site into that one soon.



What motivates me. Basic necessities, to be honest. But almost daily I create art. Since my living situation is more cramped a the moment, I have a small portable studio I use to paint on, and I use gouache and watercolors which I paint in mixed media sketchbooks, to save space. My bedroom has about 100 painting stacked up, which are all awaiting me to post, and sell. Many are linked to my ShelleyOverton.com site, as originals and prints you can buy there. When these circumstances change our worlds, it is a good idea to reevaluate our goals. Put off some of the year long ones, and reprioritize to have more immediate results. I have a great amount of ideas, as my art experience is approaching 45 years. Here is a list of ideas to be more productive in my, and your, artist careers:


° Create a database of your art which lets you know all the details of each piece, helpful in doing art shows, and keeping track of prolific production

° Post on social media - I use Instagram. Great site for visual artists

° Listen to Artists Helping Artists podcast with Leslie Saeta. Inspirational. Another good one is Creative Pep Talk with Andy J. Pizza

° Start a site of your own, or join Etsy, Fine Art America or Society6 to sell your art and merchandise

° Blog! Share what you are doing with others

° Create a YouTube channel to show the world what you do to create art, and your process

° Teach classes. If you can, find a location (library or rec center) to teach people art, and also students in grade school. Some homeschoolers need art credit. I used to do this for individual and families of children.

° Paint live at a coffee house or café

° Tell people you are an artist. I don't know why doing that is daunting for some. If you enjoy painting, or drawing, you are an artist. No one said you had to be professional. But if you are, own it!

° Collaborate with other artists. I have lived in Orlando 17 years, and despite myself, and my career direction, I have artist friends who continue to include me in their activities. (Thanks Megan! ;) ).

° Learn Instagram, join "share groups", and cross-market with other social media: YouTube, TikTok, Facebook, etc. I have a Facebook account I have moved away from in the last year, but when I go on I still attract clients! (Second look at it, now).


Hopefully, this list will give you some motivation. If it isn't enough, buy art magazines, go on Pinterest, troll Facebook artists, or go in boutique stores. There is inspiration everywhere. I go to Michaels when I need it. So many possibilities. I am biased, though, I used to teach art there.


I truly hope you are all staying well, and keeping your masks (all the way) on in public. Don't forget to take personal care of yourself. Time away, drives to favorite spots, or parks, and definitely a massage from a benevolent loved one does wonders. I binge on YouTube and Netflix.


If you are interested in seeing more of my work, do check out www.ShelleyOverton.com which has my original art and links to all my merchandise sites. I wish you the best!









©2020 Shelley Overton | Dotted Sky



  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page