top of page

Busy Art Month


The last month has been a whirlwind, rollercoaster, etc. All the clichés. All at the same time, well, not quite simultaneous, thankfully, but in close succession, work came my way. It was such a wonderful feeling. I knew I had time set aside to do the things I needed to, and still had work to look forward to. That hasn't happened in a while. Freelancing is a hit or miss proposition. The income can go up and down with the work. Having had a taste of it, I want MORE. During this time, I also noticed my drive to maintain electronic media waned a bit. My daughter noticed I kept forgetting my phone at home. I didn't really care. As a radical independent, the thought of my personal path ceaselessly flowing to whomever is maintaining the GPS and data on my phone irks me. So not giving over my location at ever second of the day was fine with me. This month, though, I was contacted through a friend about doing murals in a garage of a renovated 17,000 square foot mansion. That's right 17,000 square feet. The garage holds 18 vehicles, many Ferraris. That job was really nice, and it wasn't difficult picturing the house was mine.

Having time to blog, which I had committed to months ago, or posting with Inktober every day does bother me. It is really hard to get back into the habit after taking time off. My body knows this to be true with exercise. But I like having a forum to brainstorm, and write off the top of my head. I really like the look of this blog, too. After years of tweaking the business name, and look of the site, I have settled in to a lovely name and site. Fuzzy glow ensues. So painting and art wise, lately I have been squeezing out time to create where I can. Fortunately, my daughter Juliet, now 17, and looking towards graduation in 2019, finally discovered she has some drawing talent, and also discovered a minor drive to create. We have had a couple studio days together, which thrills me.

Taylor Costume

Being a Swiftie, she has taken her love of Taylor Swift, and turned it into cute illustrations of her clothing. Witness:

So, the two of us together have time to catch up, create, and create memories. Watching YouTuber illustrators, Frannerd, KatnipIllustrations and Leigh Ellexson's channels has really inspired me to keep working towards a self-supported art business. While for years I have been online, seeking out how to do this, or structure that, watching actual illustrators and YouTubers make a living in the industry, and creating their own brands has been the most motivating journey. I would like to create more art videos myself, but have had a hard time reconciling letting people into my less than perfect world. I started with Instagram almost a year ago, and that has been really fun, and an interactive way to meet other artists. I would recommend joining if you haven't. It is a more visual medium than Facebook, while still owned by them. People are more active, and you can like profiles which are more uplifting than the never-ending political rhetoric on Facebook. It is a fairly simple layout, if you explore it won't take long to pickup.

Once, again, I am committing to my Dotted Sky blog, and I will try to put my YouTube channel up the priority list. I have been recording my art timelapses, then never post them. My other business, AngelicZodiac.com, is also taking up my time. as I am the sole proprietor and producer of media there. Check it out, I have a podcast on astrology every Tuesday, faithfully. Thanks for coming along on my journey. Let me know what kind of art you like or create.

Contact Shelley: so@dottedsky.com

©2018 Shelley Overton

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page