top of page

May the Fourth Be With You


©Suburbs by Shelley Overton

May came in with the most gorgeous weather in Orlando. I have to say, as far as quarantine is concerned, I have not suffered much. I am creating more art than ever. I have been holed up with a very creative drive going. I believe this has helped me cope with being cooped up. Granted, I am usually living my work days within 12 feet of my computer, and now really isn't that different. But I have been making it a point to go outside for daily walks. While the weather is glorious, it has been getting up close to 90, with lower humidity than I have seen in years. I get my walk in before 11 am. Here is an example:

© Quarantine Walks by Shelley Overton

Interestingly, my art has been influenced by my surroundings, currently a room at my house. That means that stripes are finding their way into most of my work, in some capacity, mirroring the striped bedspreads.

I had more time to focus on promoting my astrology and art businesses, something I am thankful for, truth be told. It is working, too. More people are starting to take notice. If you haven't followed me over on Instagram, please do. I have two accounts: @artfulshelley and @dottedsky . If you are really adventurous, you can check out my astrology account, too: @angeliczodiac1 . The Instagram community is great. I follow a number of 'grammers, and it has really helped in the days, keeping me connected to the outside world, and encouraging me to keep creating, and focusing on the future.

Home seems to be a big inspiration, currently, but my cats, and family life is, too. Here are a couple examples.

© Animal Crossing by Shelley Overton

I drew this of my daughter, Juliet, and Ginger. Juliet plays Animal Crossing, of course, on the bed every day, and Ginger comes to the window for some company. Juliet has become buddies with her. You have to pet her with caution, as she will attack at any given moment. We love her, though.This illustration was meant to be colorful around Juliet, but black and white sketch style for her skin and body itself. I am experimenting with illustration styles.

© Don't Be a Little Bitch by Shelley Overton

Ginger, my last adopted cat, has always been a bit defensive. Cupid, the one I've had the longest, 4 years April 15th, is the sweetest dispositioned cat ever. Ginger has taken over the alpha cat job from Cupid. She uses her claws and Cupid has just given up. Poor thing. :) He is such a good cat. I try to draw in a more primitive style sometimes. I do it to learn. I am a technical artist, and can get perfectionistic. It helps me with realism, but not so good in to learn new techniques, so I purposely try to to loosen my lines and style. This is an example.

What are you up to? Have you been finding creative ways to spend your Coronavacation? Stay safe, Wear your mask when you can, and be considerate of distancing. We don't need the curve to go back up.

©2020 Shelley Overton

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page