top of page

Revisiting Past Projects, Creating New Ones

Monday morning comes around again. Excited to be writing. My new routine is designed to keep me creating. Are you doing something to motivate you to paint or create? I am a creative and imaginative person by nature. I fell asleep last night with flashes of different art ideas in my mind's

eye. That is probably the continuation of my painting day yesterday. I was able to find time to create another painting in my fruit series, Grapes. This is a fun series, but has triggered my creative juices.

Having spent the weekend helping a friend with her garden, flowers have become a renewed focus of my imagination. I will definitely be creating more flower-inspired artwork.

floralwreath

Currently, I have a painting I've begun a few years ago. I put it on the back burner until I was moved to continue. I am moved now. I believe we artists can do that, and grow as artists. As time passes, and experience grows, we are more capable of executing our vision. I feel I am better able to create my vision, with a couple more years of art experience. I will keep you up on the progress. My critical eye sees anomalies in the wreathed woman's arm. Though there is a certain amount of foreshortening, her arm is too short. I will need to fix that, and give her filmier chiffon sleeves, a process of glazing, or going back over another layer of paint. I will ad more depth to her skin and detail to her face. I am excited to finish her.

Finally, I am working hard at getting my vlog videos up, so I can share my process with you. Thank you for hanging out with me on a rainy Monday.

Talk to you next week.

All art ©Shelley Overton

If you would like to contact Shelley you can at so@dottedsky.com

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page