top of page

Motivating My Art

Cherries Painting ©ShelleyOverton

This week is a busy week of art, editing and activity. I have been doing adorable fruit paintings. I have so many paintings covering my walls all over the house (they are for sale BTW - at ShelleyOverton.com). Since I have so many, I have decided to start painting small paintings. I can start new ones every day, and they are finished quickly. The fruit paintings are a series of paintings I felt like doing. The stripey background is one of my obsessions, along with polka dots. It makes me happy. The colors also make me happy. It is a subject matter without any (seeming) end. I am excited to do one for my daughter, watermelons, and my mom, grapes, my friend, limes, etc. I want to extend this series to greeting cards on my site. It is fun, and goes along with the season. I believe I will, also, do a flower series. I find series are a great way to get myself to paint. I have so many things in this world I want to paint. It really keeps me active, and producing, pardon the pun!

Blueberries painting ©ShelleyOverton
Peach painting ©ShelleyOverton

As far as the farm is concerned, while the cows are gone, I have another cat coming around. Yes, I am now the cat lady of Bithlo, lol. KIDDING Universe! Don't send anymore. Valentine is a kitty who showed up for food every night. As I am allergic to cats, and anything with fur, Cupid is on the porch, and gets fed there. Of course, animals will come. So I kept shooing her away, and Cupid did nothing to dissuade her, until he went away overnight to the vet, and came back. When he came back, and I started showing her attention ~and gave her a name~ he started defending his territory. So now I am invested, and so is she. Silly Cupid. Anyway, I give him love and food when she comes around, and now he goes up into the living room window to let me know she's here. Usually around 8pm. She stays until morning, and depending how long it takes me to go outside, is there or leaves for another breakfast somewhere in the neighborhood. I suspect she belongs to a neighbor, though she comes from the empty lot full of trees before dinner time. She is spayed, and has the tipped ear to indicate it. Turns out Cupid is neutered, too, and was owned by a now long gone neighbor who worked for a VET! Not sure how a person who works at a vet could leave cats behind to fend for themselves. Despicable. But he has a loving home now. He is my cat and I am his person. ❤ Valentine came around Valentine's Day, and it was a name which seemed to go well with Cupid. Ironically, last Friday was Friday the 13th, and when she came across the street, she hi-tailed it here...probably to avoid getting hit by a car who didn't want her crossing his path. :)

Valentine the cat

Lots of work on the astrology side of my business, too. I am rebranding from Astrologer Angel to Angelic Zodiac. I like it better as a name. If you are interested in a reading or listening to my weekly podcast, you can check it out at www.AngelicZodiac.com . I hope you get large tax refunds this week, and if you would like to check out my astrology blog, you can find it here. If you would like to see more videos of art, Dotted Sky, or astrology podcasts, you can find them here.

I am motivating to keep doing art, and telling everyone about it. If you would like to connect in Instagram, you can find me here: @artfulshelley or @dottedsky or @astrologerangel

Thanks for stopping by this week! See you next week, Namaste

Dotted Sky blog/Dotted Sky/artwork copyright ©Shelley Overton 2018

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page