top of page

Rainbow Felt Balls & the Number 3 | Feng Shui

2018 is ramping up to be a busy and productive year! I hope your January has been. The weather can get us down, cold, rainy, snowing and fraught with obstacles. Here in Orlando, I have been relishing the colder weather. It stimulates and energizes me. I have been putting that energy into my art, and business. I have become excited to paint and draw more. Projects which were just hanging out are now getting done.

​​Just yesterday I created this amazing stuffed number three. In Feng Shui numbers of an address can be added up and give the home the energy of that number. It is a sort of numerology. So for instance, my house numbers are 1+0+4 = 5. Five is the energy of change. I like change, especially when I feel stuck. But here, in this time and place, money is on my mind. The number of money and prosperity is eight. To get to an 8, I would need to add 3, hence the stuffed 3. If you put a number on the back of your front door, it changes the house number vibration. I have done this in different locations in the the past 15 years, and I really like not only the vibe, but the look. My numbers are creative and bright, with felt of different colors, ribbons, and beads. I added a garland of multicolored felt balls for fun. I have to admit, I have an affinity for dots and balls. As I work with felt, I realize I really like working with sculpture, and especially soft sculpture. Something I had an inkling of over the years, but really acknowledge now. You can see the "making of" video here.

As for other art, I have been in the studio. I am working on an owl project. If you would like to see the "making of" video for the owl, click this link here. This will be a pencil drawing. I might add a bit of color, but subtle. Also, I had a new baby cousin added to the family, Desmond. I heard about his birth while walking in a Hallmark store. So, of course, I bought a card for him, lol. It has a whale on it, so I thought I would paint a whale for him, for his nursery wall.

I am entering a couple paintings in a local art show, and am in the process of arranging a solo show for later in the year. That excites me, as well, as I am doing my best to make 2018 the Year of Yes! I will do my best to say yes to business opportunities that I would normally shy away from for lack of confidence. Wish me luck! And lots of luck and love to you and your family over the course of the year.

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page