top of page

In the Heat of the Summer


This summer has been extremely busy. It started off with kids getting out of school. I have been working on my astrology book, too. That hasn't gone as fast as I would have liked, but Mars. planet of action, was retrograde for most of the summer. That means that he pulls his energy back. Things don't go as smoothly. I have had people say I talk about astrology a lot. I tell them that's because I earn my living, at leas half my living, that way. It would be really difficult for you not to talk about your career, wouldn't it? I am, also, a self-appointed ambassador of astrology. Most people don't know much about it, so they make a snap judgement about its validity in their world. If they knew, they wouldn't be so quick to judge it worthless. Since I do know, a lot, about it, I decided to put it in a book to help people to understand. It will be out before the end of the year. Still working on the deadline.

As for around the farm, things have slowed down over the summer. The garden basically went up in the heat...98° for the month of June, and into July. Rains came, but not consistent, and my mower took out my sprinkler head. Poor kale. Kale is an amazing veggie. I really like the taste, so much better than spinach! The tomatoes never had a chance. I have since stopped eating them, as they are acidic, and inflammatory. I let a bit of tomato enter through spaghetti sauce, though I have cut that down, and ketchup. I like mayo better anyway. So I am a new Moon away from planting new veggies. The herbs did well, rosemary, sage and just planted catnip. All good things, all good things, to quote Olaf. The yams suffered bug bites, but are coming back strong, if the deer don't eat them. I will plant kale, possibly peas, as they burnt up almost immediately. Squash and zucchini are faves, too. Should make good eating. Still getting used to a climate where you can't grow things in the summer. Who'd have thunk?

We took my son to college this past weekend.

That was nice. He has lived with his dad for the last four years, primarily. That was by choice, or by computer, as the case may be. I have majority custody. Since he was mostly at his dad's, saying good bye was easier, initially, than for his dad. I don't normally see him more than once a week. That being said, that once a week loss will be hard. I soothe myself by knowing his dad is enforcing him coming back for Labor Day. He is just across the state, on the Gulf Coast, so it is only a 2.5 hour drive. But, apparently, he is really taking to college dorm life, and has had a week of parties, games and mini-classes to see what he wants to take. It is a liberal arts college, and they are highly thought of in U.S. News and World Report for a public college. They are, also, unusual in their assessments. No grades, they have reviews. I really think he will enjoy this format. It is like pulling teeth to get a text, or call, though. Family have already put together care packages. He is loved.

Currently, my daughter decided she wanted to go into color guard at school. She's in high school. The school has a phenomenal activity group for band, cheer, flags (color guard) and majorettes. They are known as The Regiment. It is a big thing at school. She put in over 70 hours the two weeks before school. They are very tight, and those who can't stand the heat, as it were, get out of the kitchen. I was highly concerned, since I needed to sign a loss of life(!) waiver upon her signing up. Fortunately, the rains kept them in the gym a lot, and the new thermal towels which hold water really help against the heat. She is excited, as I am writing this, her first football game is tonight. I am really proud of her. She put a lot into it, and got over her fear of catching a twirling flag pole!

Cupid is getting much better. He lets me know when he is hungry by jumping up in my window sill, an effort which takes some balance, as the rocking loveseat is underneath it, and he balances between the rocker and sill. Sometimes he even cleans himself with his leg up in the air, butt floating over the ground. He loves me, and I love him.

The porch houses a few frogs, which feed on the bugs the light attracts at night. I almost stepped on one...he was on the welcome mat, missing an eye...Cupid! It is sad, as I love these critters. That being said, it was morbidly amusing to watch him jump in circles. I caught the slimy thing and put him in the garden. I saw him later with his head tilted to one side. Poor thing.

I have been itching to get back in the studio. I painted a background, this morning, for a painting of the Eiffel Tower, macaroons, and Cupid. I will post photos, or the video of it, should I make one. I am working on a couple art projects, I will clue you in with coming blogs. Till then, must get to work on my AstroEnergy Astrology podcast video uploads. As my daughter says, "zoom zoom"!

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page