top of page

Dotted Sky Art, Farm & Studios

How did the year get away from me ALREADY?! So here we are in March, looking forward to St. Patrick's Day. Currently, I am getting the land ready for the summer. I had some pruning of the citrus trees to do. They are in pretty bad shape. The Spanish moss hanging from the tree falls down in the wind, onto the lemon and orange trees below. The lemons look just like oranges, but taste just like lemons. Matter of fact, all the oranges are not very tasty. The trees have some lichen on them, and air plants stuck to some branches. The fruit themselves have some kind of creeping discoloraton on them. Sad, because I was looking forward to fresh citrus. A couple of the trees have palmettos at their base, which are infringing on their space. So this past weekend I trimmed away the palmetto on one in the back yard. I cut back the overlap on the other. I have three great, tall trees which all look like they were in Psycho. The branches are all dead, and the Spanish moss is clumped all over the whole tree. Very eerie. They should be cut down, but I haven't heard the landlord say that's on his agenda.

I have been drawing on the couch at night. I like doing something productive in the evenings, so I draw, and color in watercolor pencil. Here's a taste:

So much has been going on since the last blog. I am gardening, I saw a horse race with a friend, whose father is part owner in a race horse, up in Ocala. I saw the traveling Broadway play Matilda. My friend's daughter is one of three girls who have the title role, and rotate the honor of playing her. My son, daughter and I went to Tampa a couple weekends ago to see the fabulous play. If it comes near your home, definitely go out and see it.

My son graduates this year, so we are preparing for him to go off to college. My sister will be coming to town for that event. It is a very busy year.

I have, also, been writing a book on beginner's astrology. That is exciting for me to work on, as I have been conceiving of it for many years. I, finally, decided to take some of my astrological illustrations and begin. That was the impetus for the start of the book, something I had been having a hard time doing. The illustrations are almost all done, then I will get to write the book, itself. My goal is to have it written by March 21, and edited by a May release date. Sooner if I can. With all this going on, I am planning a friend's birthday barbeque this weekend at the farm, taking clients, and redecorating the bathroom. All that is part of my vlog, which I took up in December. You can see the latest vlog here:

I am determined to upload one video vlog per week. Hope you can stop by and subscribe! Thanks for reading, and I really hope you come back by for more farm fun, DIYs and art!

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page