top of page

Peace-filled Season


December should be giving Floridians a hint of cool, and drier weather. Not so. It is 70 and foggy right now. Grass is always greener, but to be clear, I never had a problem with the change in weather. I love cuddling up by the fire, or bundling up to go outside and shovel. I am a rare breed. I live in Florida for family. I guess it doesn't hurt that we have a few days a year of 70s when everyone else is snowed in, but in recent years, the Sun is not as obvious, and the Sunshine State is a misnomer.

The oranges are ripe, and falling to the ground now, our version of Autumn. Now I am trying to figure out what to do with dozens of oranges. I've seen vlogs on YouTube where they dry the outsides, and slices to make wreaths. That sounds appealing. It is strange that I don't fully trust the fruit straight off the tree. I have been conditioned by the grocery store to need everything sterilized and pasteurized. So sad. I am learning...my Virgoan desire for hygiene is definitely being challenged in a rural setting.

I have begun vlogging. . .the practice of telling the world what you are up to through moving pictures. This is, of course, the next step for a photography-minded artist. So now I am doing something called "vlogmas"; the recording of everything I do in a day during the month of December, leading up to Christmas. Ironic, considering I have been a practicing Buddhist for 28 years. It is the spirit of the holiday that I observe, albeit I grew up Catholic, at least until 13. To ease my hypocrisy, I have named it Buddhamas, and my tree is a "peace tree", particularly appropriate this year. For the Christians who take exception, maybe you can look at it as spreading Jesus' idea of love and acceptance, that which Christmas is truly about.

As far as my art is concerned, I am getting my creative drive satisfied through video right now, and a little illustration for a friend. I am in the middle of editing a new music video for my friend, Tracey. She is a musician who is releasing a new CD in January. Very excited for her, and I will spend the day working on our project, doing the astrology radio show { click here } and editing my new astrology book. Should be a good, fun day. If you would like to see the Artful Vlogmas, click here, and there.

Here's a sample of the art I have been doing:

Thanks for stopping by and checking in with me. :) Talk with you again, soon.

If you would like to contact me, you can email me here: eMail Shelley

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page