top of page

Sewing and Painting at the Cottage


Art, definitely, has taken a front seat this week, at the Cottage. I needed to get into the studio and create. I have actively ignored the studio. I felt I had to get my ducks in a row first, and that means getting the house put away from the move two months ago. I underestimated just how long it would take to find places for 2500 square feet of furniture and living in a 1200 square foot home. It isn't that I have a fear of letting things go, I don't. I just haven't been able to get through all the boxes...the only ones left are in the studio. I have consolidated like items, mostly colored pencils and paints. Now it is a matter of sifting through a decade of papers in a file cabinet and on my desk. And so they wait...still.

I went into the studio, and painted a photo I've had for a year. It is an amazing photo of a llama with no visibility. His eyes are completely hidden by hair, and his cute little mouth protrudes from that mop of hair. I love it! I had a painting I'd started of a cartoon cat on his hind legs. It didn't turn out like I'd wanted, so I repurposed the canvas, keeping the cute, cute mouse on top, and the silver Moon. So I whipped this 8"x10" painting out in an hour, before I picked up my daughter at high school. It was very satisfying to see this painting happen, one that is a mixed media piece of pencil, paper and acrylic. I have purposely attempted to not go to the familiar, the style I use mostly. I am pushing my comfort zone, and trying composition which is not my traditional, smaller object off center.

I am a photographer by nature, if not profession. That helps my artist's eye, as well. It has been a

passion since high school, when I took a photography class. I was able to do some darkroom photography in trade school. For my younger audience, that is the art of developing the photographs in a dark room from black and white film. The scientist in me LOVED that. Seeing the chemicals develop the image on the silver, and the paper. So fun. Now, digital photography has been like giving an addict a needle. The sheer number of photos I offload from my camera in a month is shocking. And I am not shy to take multiples of the same subject, just to get the composition, lighting and special effects - depth of field and focus - correct (to my perfectionistic tastes). Here are some photos I've taken around the Hollow. The mushroom is in the pot on my front porch. So charming. The spider plant keeps the mushroom company on the other side of the entrance.

Finally, I have a window looking out the studio bathroom, which doubles as a laundry room, wide open to the back yard. Normally, this wouldn't be a problem for me, but my landlords do feed the pigs by accessing my back yard, and I had an insurance man randomly stop by last week, unannounced, to inspect the property. This week, we are having Thanksgiving at my home, so people will be using it, too. The need arose for curtains, so I had some fabric I had stashed for a while. Never could find a place to use it. Now I have just the place. I made some simple curtains, 2 rectangles, and had the rod put up a couple weeks ago in anticipation of the curtains. Here is a shot of the finished product. :)​

So this week has been productive. Funny, I never feel like I accomplish as much as I intend! Fortunately, next week is a holiday week, and while most people are relaxing, I have some free time to catch up on my projects and jobs. Illustration, readings...I will still be busy.

Family is coming over to the farm for our Thanksgiving dinner. I am excited and stressed. Should be a fabulous day, extended family and children, animals and conversation with good food. I will be making some vegan vegetable dishes, including organic mashed potatoes with garlic. Yum! I am wishing you all the best this holiday, and will be saying thanks for this lovely life of mine, and people who mean the world to me populating it. Happy Thanksgiving!

If you want to get hold of Shelley for design, art or astrology services, the quickest way is to email her: biz@artfulenergies.com

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page