top of page

Nature and the Country


It has been quite a road, and I've only been living in the cottage at for 2 months. I have had my hands full with boxes loaded in every nook and cranny of this place, and multiple projects to attend, just to make the place comfortable and livable. The water still has me in a quandary. I have well water, and it gets hard if I don't put salt into the system. I will get used to it though, and the benefits outweigh the troubles. I have land around me, and animals.

Last weekend, the landlords were in Costa Rica, and asked me to water the pigs at the pig pen in the back 2 acres. I got to meet Belle, Nike, Tinkerbell and Jasmine. A mama and her 5 babies. They aren't so small anymore. They are funny. With 2 plastic tubs for water and a pink kid's pool in the shape of a shell, the mama, Nike (like the shoe company), would tip over the tub when it was half full. What you hear about being "as happy as a pig in a mud puddle" is based on reality. They really like their mud puddles! ​​ ​

The studio is shaping up more now. I have most boxes put away, and most of the mess sits on my desk. It really is a matter of taking a day just to sort through papers. I have a new feeling in the studio, like a sense of purpose, and it is drawing me in, pardon the pun. I have a couple logo design jobs. I do the designing on my computer, usually, but I colored one in, in the material world. It really is fun to get out the pencils and watercolors. I need it in my life. I don't always take the time I need to create in this way. Oh! And in the moving process, I had taken boxes of my grandparents' slides from the 1960s from my cousin. It turns out there is a box of lampwork glass rods, and tools to start with that. A process I am attracted to, but shied away from, being I have so many modalities of art I do now. But the powers that be laid it in my path. When I get some "me" time, I will see what's what.

And, last, but not least, my daughter, fortunate girl that she is, went to Taylor Swift in Miami this week. She got great stage-side tickets through her father's connections, and got to take a couple friends down with her. She had "post concert depression" or PCD, as we have coined it. I told her, "You are going to the Tampa show in 3 days, save it until Sunday". Yes, that's right. My princess daughter ALSO has tickets to the last show of Taylor's American tour, in Tampa, on Halloween night. She got those tickets as a gift before the other ones showed up. Guess who gets to take her! Yep, I do. So I am getting excited to have something to do with my weekend besides clean and work. We are taking another friend of hers, and making a day of it. I will post photos next blog.

The birdy painting is 5"x7" on canvas, mixed media with acrylic and paper. It is for sale for $35 if you would like to purchase it, contact me at biz@artfulenergies.com. Talk to you soon!

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page