top of page

Fall Planting


You would think I would be painting by now, but, alas, I am enamored of my new country garden. This is inspiration. The okra is at the end of its days. The sweet potato vine was decimated a week ago by deer. Landlord Mike stopped by while I was tweaking the garden. He said I could pick out the sweet potatoes from the vine, and get it back into the garden space. He likes things "neat and contained". The mower has been letting them grow outside the fence. It was sweet and countrified. I will look into that this weekend.

​Meanwhile, I bought just under $40 worth of veggies and herbs at the nursery last Saturday. I was excited to plant them, but the bed needed weeding, so I did half of it Sunday night, and the other half this morning. Once I planted my assortment of veggies and flowers; chives, onions, curly kale, basil, coleus, tomatoes, salvia - red and purple, peppermint, and pre-existing aloe.

There is, also, a beautiful red climbing rose bookending the front bed. It is about 10 feet tall...think I'm going to have to rein it in.

So while I was in the garden just after sunrise, I was overtaken by the urge to get to the other planting bed. It had about 10 square feet of weeds, and they needed pulling. The fence was put up around half the bed, and the back half was an open door for the deer. The took advantage. Fortunately, I had all the equipment lying around, so I just had to do the work. It is really satisfying to bring order to the chaotic, or forgotten.

So the south bed was calling, and I needed to spread out my nursery veggies. I chose Romaine lettuce, and Brussels sprouts. Should make good eats, if the Mercury retrograde, and waning Moon don't put the kibosh on their growth! These are my iPhone photos of my progress. I will post better quaity photos, soon, of the whole thing. While I was working in the garden, a couple resident cows were feeling rather hungry. The big grayish white cow, Molly, was in the covered corral. I am still learning all their names, but she was joined by a friend, who shall remain nameless for the time being. I told her I had not grain for her breakfast, but she didn't want to hear it, and bellowed louder. I snapped this photo, and walked away to the foghorn.

Now I just have a bit of cleaning up to do. Too bad I can't make sushi okra. I am working on my studio mess, and the AstroScopes this afternoon. Hope you are having a productive week.

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page