top of page

Settling into a New Home

The move is done. The movers are gone, but not forgotten. I wish I could say it went smoothly, but I can't. I used a moving company which I had almost used in January, for my last move. The woman, Jessica, sounded nice on th phone. Unfortunately, fate stepped in. There was only one man who showed up at the scheduled time. I had to wait for others to arrive, and when they did, two men, one was grossly out of shape, and the other was drinking, at noon. The first man, Ivan, had packed a quarter of the truck in three hours, before they showed up, even hoisting the couch on his back! After I called Jessica back, and told her that her man was drunk, Ivan had to tell him to leave. The police were called, and with the help of my ex, and two cops, he finally left, driven by the other mover. So then we had to wait for two more men.

Ivan was trying to leave by 4, and I was aware of his rush. After the new men showed up, one who was capable, polite, tall and fit, Ivan seemed to get a chip on his shoulder. He started being more careless with my furniture, even moving it down from upstairs UPSIDE DOWN! I knew at this point that anything I said would be a problem, since he was rather aggressive, but polite to my face. I didn't want to jeopardize anymore furniture. The rain came, at 3, and I called Jessica to discuss continuing the move the next day, since Tropical Storm Erika was affecting the weather. She agreed, and discounted the price for me, charging me for only one man, and removing the minimum $250 initial charge.

The next day, Ivan shows up on time, and the others follow. The second load is done by 4 pm, but not before Ivan has broken my dining table in two places, split a ceramic plant pot in half, and taken chips out of my fine dresser, not finished building my four poster bed, and damaged my office furniture, about which he told a friend, "we aren't responsible for particle board furniture". I guess that gave him carte blanche to chip all of them, and treat them poorly.

I am done, I paid them a reduced rate, and ironically, the men got decent tips...sweat equity. Hot and muggy day and they were all dripping. I hesitate to complain, even though Jessica left a voicemail to let her know if there is anything else she can do. She is not answering my calls, and my emails. She can't control the snail mail, though. If I am up to the fight, which right now I am not, I may attempt communcation.

Instead, I am digging out, an lengthy process, but satisfying as I collapse each individual box. I am around 40% unpacked, I would guestimate. There are upgrading items on my agenda, and a home security system to get, pressure washing to do, grout refinishing, and baseboards needed in the kitchen. So, why do I put up with all the adversity? Because I am in a quaint home in the country. I am 2 miles from civilization, one as the crow flies, and I cannot wait to have my little studio set up and working. I have so many ideas and creative projects to get to. It is going to be a full Fall.

I hope you are well, and handling the crazy changes coming your way! Thanks for taking a look at my blogs. :)

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page