top of page

November - Art by Shelley Overton

Here we are, Halloween on the horizon. I am constantly amazed at how strong the creative drive is right now. Since lockdown a year and a half ago, I have felt my art is one of the primary things that counterbalances the darker emotional side of the pandemic. As I create a new painting, whether in gouache, watercolor, pencil or acrylic, I choose bright colors, and have been exploring the abstract. I am a realistic artist by nature. Probably my desire to prove I know how to draw, haha. But I have wanted to really explore this side of art. I am pleased to say, it is a lot of fun, and had emerged as one of the most consistent styles I create.


I tried to do the #peachtober challenge, an individual prompt list for the October art challenge started as #Inktober . I felt it was a bit overwhelming this year, and so I decided to follow the @furrylittlepeach prompts. Alas, even that was too much. I don't feel I've contributed to the level of my skills and talent. You can see the two weeks' attempts on my Instagram account @artfulshelley .


I've been posting some time lapses of my process. It has been a great time. I love looking back at them to see how things progress. Here is a sample:


As I go along, I realize the commonality with all my creativity is color. I am enthralled with color. The more playful, the better. It inspires me, motivates me, and cheers me. I hope it will for you, too!


If you would like to see my art on Tshirts, pillows or prints, please go to the main page of www.ShelleyOverton.com


Thanks for stopping by this month!







For purchase of orginals or prints, you can contact Shelley at so@dottedsky.com








©2021 Shelley Overton

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page